To Be an Entrepreneur, Geek Out In Ways Others Won’t

AUkermanBigThink

By Scott Aukerman for BigThink.Com

“So when I first started my podcast I would get really interested in how it would get onto the Internet, and I didn’t really know what it was, and I didn’t know that you had to put it up on a hosting site then that hosting site feeds it to the rest of the world, including iTunes and all that. I just thought like, “How do I put this on iTunes? Do I call iTunes? How do I do this?!” And someone said, “No, no, no, you find yourself a hosting site, it feeds it. Everyone else, once you ping it in iTunes, they’ll start automatically refreshing it anytime you put up an episode.” So I got very into that and I started looking at the numbers and I started looking at the cities that were the most popular cities to listen to the show in, and I started seeing the trajectory of the numbers, and all that stuff is honestly very fascinating to me.”

“If an idea comes along that is complicated and terrifying and you want to run a million miles from it—you’re probably onto a great thing. That’s the takeaway from Scott Aukerman, who co-founded the podcast network Earwolf, home to podcasts by Stephen J. Dubner, Hannibal Buress, Katie Couric, Jeff Garlin, Chris Gethard, and Lauren Lapkus. Aukerman explains how he went from being a comedian with an interest in podcasts, to a businessman who co-runs an audio empire. Entrepreneurs aren’t a different species, they just geek out in ways that others don’t. Scott Aukerman’s podcast is Comedy Bang! Bang!.”

BigThink.Com

Leave a Reply

